Missing A Step

Has it ever happened to you? You trip a little. Miss a step. You feel awkward. Do you acknowledge it? Do you say “Whoops, first day on my new feet?”

I wore high heels yesterday. Could be the reason. But it wasn’t and so there we are.

What I have learned in life is that owning our mistakes, our choices, and improving is all we can do. We have to trip sometimes. We have to fall. We have to get back up and try again.

Yet here I am in comfort mode. Big sweatshirt, hair in a ponytail, cup of coffee, the blog, and the mini wheats. I am assuring myself that despite my awkwardness, I am still very much me.

Today’s lesson is simple. You will make mistakes. You will have heartaches. I went to drive off in my car and a Facebook message came to me. Rhee Gold told me I was wicked awesome. It reminded me that no matter what I do, there will be some people who will love me despite my failures, my awkwardness, and my need for ponytails. They will understand that an oversized sweatshirt feels like you are behind the couch, but still in public. I think we all need an oversized sweatshirt now and again.

So comfort yourself when you are awkward. Do what you must. Wait until you are ready and step out again. Return to your heels :) You can do it.

Praying over your steps today. Praying they be wise ones.

One thought on “Missing A Step

Leave a Reply

